Fan Website For A Feast for Odin Board Game

Back


Scenario 7: "The Inspector"



Previously on "Vikings"...

After a long journey and some exhausting mountaineering, we finally returned to our beloved home. Our muscles were toned, our resource-gathering skills were unparalleled, and we almost struck a pose as we sauntered off the boat.

The general good mood was short-lived when we saw the scowl on the chief's face. It turns out the errand we blew off was to Baffin Island. It was hard to believe we missed it, having wandered practically everywhere else, but there was no helping it. We failed to deliver a message, somebody nearly started a war, we were home late, and the chief was unimpressed to discover we spent half the trip hiking.

Having decided it was high time we received some supervision, he informed us that we would be spending the immediate future under the watchful eye of his Inspector. However, there was a ray of hope. Someone could still deliver the chief's message. The rest of us resigned ourselves to one arbitrary task after another in an effort to convince the Inspector we deserved some freedom again. It was going to be a long week.

The Inspector started out by demanding to see Raiding or Pillaging. "We aren't ready! We don't have the boat ready! We need stones and swords!" He silently watched us, scratching on his bark clipboard, and we knew we'd just have to make the best of it.


Rule(s):


For this scenario, dice rolls are random, weapon decks are random, and mountain tiles are random.
A starting occupation and 20 normal occupations have been selected for everyone.

1. Set up the solo long game as normal. Any rules from the last scenario are reset.
2. Take the starting occupation shown below.
3. You MUST explore Baffin Island during the game. You MAY also explore other island(s) in addition.
4. Place an "inspector meeple" of an unused color to the left of the "Raiding" space.
5. In phase 12, move the inspector meeple up one space. This means in round 7, the inspector meeple will be to the left of the Flax to Linen crafting action.
6. You must use AT LEAST 1 action from the inspector meeple's row every round. It can be from anywhere on the row. You can use more than one such action if you like. If you use a matching action and later take the viking(s) back somehow, that is still legal. If you use Latecomer to take a matching action, that is still legal.
7. If you are doing the blind challenge, click "Reveal Next Card" whenever you need to draw an occupation card.
8. Otherwise, click "Reveal All". The top of the list is the top of your deck.


NOTE: Be careful with Latecomer! Note the appendix text about "Vikings in the active color".
NOTE: The Inspector card has no effect on the inspector meeple. It's just thematic.


Starting Occupation(s):

If more than one are shown, choose one.

Card Points Description Type
Latecomer (91 c) 0 At the end of the Actions phase (phase 5) of each round, you can pay 1 silver to use an unoccupied action space in the first column without placing any more Vikings. The action space you choose must be above or below another action space in the first column with one of your Vikings on it. (It does not matter nor does it count whether the action space you choose is adjacent to one in the second column with two of your Vikings on it. In the solo game, only Vikings in the active color count.) Each Time



Occupation Deck:

The top of the list is the top of your deck.

If you wish to do the optional blind challenge for your first game, click "Reveal Next Card" each time you need to draw.
If you have finished the blind challenge or want to skip it, click "Reveal All" below the table.





Card Points Description Type
Inspector (60 C) 2 When you play this card, you can immediately (and only once via this card) move a Viking from an action space of your choice to your Thing Square and use it again later that round. Additionally, if you pay an amount of silver equal to the current round, you can move two Vikings instead of one from a single action space. (e.g., in round 5, this would cost you 5 silver.) (If by this an action space becomes unoccupied, it can be used again that round.) Immediate
Linseed Oil Presser (58 A) 3 At any time and any number of times, you can exchange 2 flax in your supply for 3 oil. Anytime
Pea Counter (97 B) 1 In the Harvest phase (phase 2) of each round with no harvest, you can double the amount of peas in your supply, to a maximum of 8 peas. (So you can double at most 4 peas. This does not apply to peas in your houses.) Each Time
Tradesman (54 A) 3 At any time and any number of times, you can exchange silverware in your supply for either silk or chest at a 1:1 ratio. Anytime
Clerk (88 C) 2 Immediately before each time you take an "Overseas Trading" action (on an action space or via an occupation), for each knarr you have, you can take a "<^ 1 Good" action for 1 silver per action. So you can exchange a good for another one that is located to the top left of it in the goods boxes (e.g., 1 cattle for 1 robe). (By the way, you can use an "Overseas Trading" action space and pay 1 silver, even if you do not turn a single green craft product to the other side.) Each Time
Weapons Warden (166 B) 1 Immediately before each time you place 2 Vikings in the second column, you can draw 1 weapon card from the face-down draw pile and place it face up in front of you. The first time you do so in a round, you do not receive the weapon card. Each Time
Weapons Supplier (68 A) 2 When you play this card, you can immediately (and only once via this card) draw 4 weapon cards from the face-down draw pile and place them face up in front of you. Immediate
Quartermaster (81 C) 2 When you play this card, you can immediately (and only once via this card) buy a longship. If you do, you receive a discount of 1 silver for each long sword you have, counting each "bow and arrow" and "spear" weapon card as half of a long sword. Round the final cost down, if need be. Immediate
Lance Bearer (133 B) 1 Each time you take a "Raiding" action (on an action space or via an occupation), if you succeed, you also receive either 1 silver or 1 peas. (This does not apply to pillaging.) Each Time
Traveling Merchant (78 B) 0 When you play this card, if you have 1/2/3/4 knarrs, you can immediately (and only once via this card) turn 2/4/6/7 goods tiles to the other side, respectively. Orange and green tiles are best suited for this. (This is not considered a "^x Goods" action.) Immediate
Arms Dealer (56 A) 1 At any time and any number of times, you can discard any 2 weapon cards to receive 1 ore from the general supply. Anytime
Fisherman (27 A) 1 When you play this card, you immediately (and only once via this card) receive 1 stockfish for each whaling boat you have (so at most 3 stockfish). (The amount of ore on the whaling boats does not matter.) Immediate
Sympathetic Soul (92 C) 1 In the Harvest phase (phase 2) of each round with no harvest, if you then have 3/4/5 special tiles, you receive 1/2/3 silver, respectively. (The size of your special tiles does not matter, just like the fact whether they are in your supply or on your boards. Special tiles that you had to return do not count.) Each Time
Modifier (39 C) 2 At any time and any number of times, you can return ore from your whaling boats and longships to your supply. (Of course, you cannot remove the preprinted ore on your boats.) Anytime
Laborer (124 B) 1 Each time you use an action space that gives you exactly 2 silver (no more, no less), you can pay these 2 silver immediately to receive 1 grain and 2 wood (from the general supply). Each Time
Builder (20 A) 0 When you play this card, you can immediately (and only once via this card) play a Bonus phase for your houses only. You will also participate in the regular Bonus phase this round. Immediate
Homecomer (76 A) 1 When you play this card, you can immediately (and only once via this card) move 1 Viking from each action space in the fourth column to your Thing Square. You can use these Vikings again later that round. (It does not matter whether or not there are still four Vikings on those action spaces.) Immediate
Earl (72 B) 2 When you play this card, you can immediately (and only once via this card) buy a stone house for an amount of silver equal to the current round. (This is not considered a "House Building" action. In round 5, for instance, the stone house would cost 5 silver.) Immediate
Carpenter (121 B) 0 Immediately before each time you use an "Ship Building" or "House Building" action space, you can take a "Take 1 Building Resource from a Mountain Strip" action. (As usual, the "2 silver" are considered a single item.) Each Time
Fighter (18 C) 0 When you play this card, if you have at least 1 longship holding at least 2 ore, you immediately (and only once via this card) receive 1 blue good. Which one you receive depends on the number of longships you have holding 2 and 3 ore: you receive 1 silk/ jewelry/silver hoard for 1/2/3 or more such longships. (You cannot take silk instead of jewelry, and you cannot take silk or jewelry instead of silver hoard. Also, you cannot discard or simply ignore a longship to receive another reward.) Immediate







This page supports the friendly Feast for Odin competition here:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1664063/feast-odin-weekly-solo-competition

Rules, card text, FAQ etc. are here:
https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/177736/feast-odin/files

All game text, images, copyrights, etc. belong to the board game creators, publishers, etc. and not me. No infringement is intended.