Fan Website For A Feast for Odin Board Game

Back


Scenario 12: "No Such Luck"



Previously on "Vikings"...

"And that's how we conquered the English through the power of a sheep-based economy." As Grandpa Viking droned to a close, the room was in disarray. Vikings were slumped against walls. Vikings were asleep on the floor. Those of us hardy enough to survive a Grandpa Viking lecture wore weary, haunted looks.

After the old man left and activity began to resume, something stuck in the minds of those who stayed awake. One of several things Grandpa ranted about was how much "kids these days" depend on luck to succeed instead of earning an "honest" living. After some discussion and significant hesitation, a few of us set out to prove him wrong.


Rule(s):


For this scenario, there are NO dice rolls, NO weapon cards (because they are not necessary), and a PRESET mountain tile order.
A starting occupation and 20 normal occupations have been selected for everyone.

1. Set up the solo long game as normal. Any rules from the last scenario are reset.
2. Take the starting occupation shown below.
3. You CANNOT use any space that requires a dice roll.
4. Use the mountain tile order in this picture: Mountain Tiles
5. If you are doing the blind challenge, click "Reveal Next Card" whenever you need to draw an occupation card.
6. Otherwise, click "Reveal All". The top of the list is the top of your deck.



Starting Occupation(s):

If more than one are shown, choose one.

Card Points Description Type
Scribe (125 c) 0 Each time you take an (orange) "Exploration" or (yellow) "Emigration" action (on an action space or via an occupation), you also receive 1 rune stone. Each Time



Occupation Deck:

The top of the list is the top of your deck.

If you wish to do the optional blind challenge for your first game, click "Reveal Next Card" each time you need to draw.
If you have finished the blind challenge or want to skip it, click "Reveal All" below the table.





Card Points Description Type
Taster (167 B) 3 At the start of the Feast phase (phase 9) of each round, if you have 1 spices in your supply, you receive 1 silver. If you have 2 or more spices in your supply, you receive 2 silver instead. (Spices on your boards do not count.) Each Time
Flax Baker (171 A) 2 After the Harvest phase (phase 2) of each round with a harvest, you can immediately exchange 1 flax for 1 grain plus 1 silver. Each Time
Bosporus Merchant (190 B) 0 With each new spices you receive in your supply (in any way), you also receive 1 oil. Each Time
Etiquette Teacher (176 B) 3 Immediately after each time you take an action in which you play at least 1 occupation (on an action space or via an occupation), you receive 1 peas. Each Time
Treasurer (55 C) 2 At any time and any number of times, you can pay 3 silver to exchange 1 chest in your supply for 1 treasure chest. Anytime
Cowherd (74 A) 1 When you play this card, you can immediately (and only once via this card) pay exactly 2 silver and 1 grain from your supply to receive 1 non-pregnant cattle in your cattle stable. Immediate
Wanderer (95 A) 1 In the Harvest phase (phase 2) of each round with no harvest, you can take a "Take 2 Building Resources from a Mountain Strip" action. (As usual, the "2 silver" are considered a single item.) Each Time
Clerk (88 C) 2 Immediately before each time you take an "Overseas Trading" action (on an action space or via an occupation), for each knarr you have, you can take a "<^ 1 Good" action for 1 silver per action. So you can exchange a good for another one that is located to the top left of it in the goods boxes (e.g., 1 cattle for 1 robe). (By the way, you can use an "Overseas Trading" action space and pay 1 silver, even if you do not turn a single green craft product to the other side.) Each Time
Nobleman (98 A) 2 Immediately after each time you place 1 grain in a stone or long house, you can buy exactly 1 silk for 2 silver. Each Time
Innkeeper (71 C) -1 When you play this card, if the "Drinking Horn" special tile is on any player's board (including yours), you can immediately (and only once via this card) move it to your supply. Fill the spot you took the Drinking Horn from with 1 chest and 1 rune stone from the general supply. Immediate
Pea Flour Baker (186 A) 3 In the Feast phase (phase 9) of each round, you can place up to 2 peas horizontally on two (adjacent) spaces of the "Banquet Table" track. (Each peas you place after your second must be placed "inefficiently", i.e., vertically. Tip: this occupation makes the acquisition of a long house worthwhile, because it can provide peas as a bonus good.) Each Time
Earl (72 B) 2 When you play this card, you can immediately (and only once via this card) buy a stone house for an amount of silver equal to the current round. (This is not considered a "House Building" action. In round 5, for instance, the stone house would cost 5 silver.) Immediate
Sheep Shearer (33 A) 2 When you play this card, if you have at least 3/4/6 sheep, you immediately (and only once via this card) receive 1/2/3 wool, respectively. (It does not matter whether or not the sheep are pregnant.) Immediate
Orient Shipper (17 A) 0 When you play this card, you can immediately (and only once via this card) take a "^^^1 Good" action, i.e., you can exchange an orange (or red or green) goods tile for a blue one of the same dimensions. (For instance, you could exchange 1 fruits for 1 treasure chest in three steps, or 1 cattle for 1 silver hoard in just 2 steps.) Immediate
Birka Settler (110 C) 1 Immediately after each time you use the "Overseas Trading" action space requiring two Vikings, you can take an "Emigration" action as you would on an action space. (By the way, you can use an "Overseas Trading" action space and pay 1 silver, even if you do not turn a single green craft product to the other side.) Each Time
Master Mason (51 B) 1 At any time and any number of times, you can pay 1 rune stone from your supply to receive 1 silver and either 1 milk or 1 cabbage. Anytime
Follower (77 A) 0 After you play this card, you can immediately (and only once via this card) use an occupied action space in the second column, regardless of who occupies the space. It must be occupied, though. (You cannot instead use an occupied action space in the first, third, or fourth column, or an unoccupied one.) If you choose "Laying a Snare" or "Pillaging" and fail, you do not receive a Viking back. Immediate
Village Leader (165 A) 3 At the start of the Feast phase (phase 9) of each round, if you then have at least 1 clothing in your supply, you receive 2 silver. (Clothing on your boards does not count.) Each Time
Priest (149 A) 1 Immediately before each time you use either "Overseas Trading" action space, you receive 1 oil. (By the way, you can use an "Overseas Trading" action space and pay 1 silver, even if you do not turn a single green craft product to the other side.) Each Time
Punchcutter (173 B) 1 Each time 1 ore and 2 silver are removed from a mountain strip during the Mountain Strips phase (phase 11), you receive 1 silver and 2 silver, respectively. Each Time







This page supports the friendly Feast for Odin competition here:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1664063/feast-odin-weekly-solo-competition

Rules, card text, FAQ etc. are here:
https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/177736/feast-odin/files

All game text, images, copyrights, etc. belong to the board game creators, publishers, etc. and not me. No infringement is intended.